authors · books · Events · Halloween

Halloween–partying with ghosts (and author Jennifer Rainey)

 *Scans crowd* Looks like things are going smoothly today. The minions are a little bedraggled, please give them some leeway today. We had a small skirmish here this morning with Dr. Franken-Helsing. We’ll survive, but I hope he won’t! 🙂 But let us think on better things. I have a special guest with me today, two actually–one human and one who was…once human. Miss Aletheia Jones and her author friend supernatural fiction author Jennifer Rainey have stopped by for a little chat.

*aside from Juli*: She means like a character chat, folks. Don’t mind her. She doesn’t realize she’s only pixels and code.

*Mistress peers at Minion* What did you say?

*Juli affects innocent look* Nothing, Ma’am. Just welcoming our guests. Ladies, welcome.

Night Mistress: Yes, welcome. First off, tell us a little about yourself and your writer friend Jennifer.

portrait by Jennifer Rainey
Aletheia Jones portrait by author Jennifer Rainey

(I hope she’s not as trying as my writer minion Juli is sometimes).

Aletheia: Oh, she’s not too terribly trying… usually. I suppose you could say her work is quirky. She’s a little offbeat. Sure, she writes paranormal/horror literature but with a sense of humor. It’s quite cute, actually.

Mistress: It sounds charming! But enough about your writer, what inspired you to help her create her stories?

Aletheia: Well, I do like ghosts to get proper and accurate representation in literature! I figured if I kept an eye on her, she would do a good job.

 *Mistress nods* You do have to watch them, don’t you? Do you get any credit? And if not, how do you recommend torturing errant writers?

Aletheia: Of course I don’t. That would be asking for too much, wouldn’t it? When I’m particularly frustrated with Ms. Rainey, I enjoy unplugging her computer. Preferably if she hasn’t saved the document in a while.

*Mistress giggles* That’s a brilliant idea! (Personally, I like to make sure one of the minions howls or make the lights blink and , as she would say, freak her out).

Tell us your favorites—and your writer may share hers too if she wishes. All Hallow’s Eve or All Saint’s Day?

Aletheia: All Hallow’s Eve, of course!

Mistress: I realize it’s probably been a while since you’ve visited the cinema, but what’s your favorite scary movie?

Aletheia: I do enjoy Nosferatu! It came out five years before I died, and I suppose it reminds me of simpler times.

Mistress: Oh, yes. That was a good one. Perfectly dreadful, don’t you think? Speaking of the greats: Dr. Frankenstein or Dracula?

Aletheia: Dr. Frankenstein. A dear friend of mine tends to remind me of  him at times.

Mistress: *sigh* Finally, someone votes for the good doctor. You know he and I once— Oh, sorry. I forgot there are perhaps the little ones to think of… *winks* I’ll tell you later, Aletheia, dear. Let’s talk of something more innocent. What’s your poison: Candy corn or chocolate?

Aletheia: Candy corn! It’s so colorful, isn’t it?

Mistress: Yes, and so sweet! Despite how much I strive for perfection, I admit, sugar’s my weakness. And clothes! I’d ask what you’re going to dress up as for Halloween this year but, that is a fabulous dress, Aletheia. Who’s your designer?

Aletheia: Oh, goodness, it’s been over 80 years since I died! I can hardly remember who designed this… I think I picked it up a second-hand store. I thought it made me look glamorous. Of course, I had no idea I’d be mowed down by a car in it.

Mistress: *Shakes head* Shame. But you know what they say, if you can’t leave a  good ghost, you’ve not lived. 😉 If you could date any classic monster, or main character from Classic horror (such as Dracula, Frankenstein, Carmilla, Turn of the Screw, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, The Tell-Tale Heart? The Raven?), who would you choose?

Aletheia: Dracula is certainly dashing, and as I said, I am fond of Dr. Frankenstein. (Not his monster, however. He’s rather beastly.) I would probably choose the good doctor. Vampires are not really my speed.

*Mistress nods* I really prefer a man with a *excuse the pun* brain, myself. Please give us a taste of your author’s work. Or Jennifer would you like to tell us about it?

Blurb: When Erasmus Bramble finds the recently-deceased Angus Heyer rummaging through his kitchen cabinets, he knows he has a unique case on his hands. 

As paranormal investigators in rural Ohio, Ras and his business partner Antony Yeats tackle ghostly problems on a daily basis, from poltergeist exterminations to troubled spirits just looking for a shoulder to cry on. Angus isn’t looking for ghost therapy. He needs Ras and Yeats to help him retrieve a pocket watch stolen from him after death, a pocket watch that is said to be cursed: The Beldam’s Eye. 


The skeptical Ras and Yeats agree to take Angus’s case, but they soon find themselves in over their heads, facing murder, theft and perilous dark magic. Is it all just backwoods superstition or is the curse of The Beldam’s Eye grisly reality?

Excerpt: A pillow with the words God Bless This Mess stitched across the middle immediately flew at his head. He ducked and charged into the wind tunnel that was supposed to be a guest bedroom. The windows were shut, but curtains billowed into the middle of the room and cutesy Americana-flavored decorations rolled across the floor like tumbleweed.

“Where is she?” Ras yelled over the roar of the wind.

“Over there in the corner!” Betty Ann answered.

Yeats immediately snapped a picture of the corner. The spirit box spat out a photograph, and he waited for the image to develop, throwing one arm up to protect himself from a flying quilt.

“Mrs. Walsh, you might want to wait downstairs,” Ras said. “We don’t want you to get hurt.”

Betty Ann was halfway back down the hall when Yeats yelled, “Ras, we’ve got a rogue here.” A portrait of Jesus Christ, the kind where the eyes were always on you, tumbled to the ground.

Ras dodged a potted plant and examined the image. Something that used to be a young woman in a red dress stood in the corner, her long black hair flying in all directions as though she’d been struck by lightning. The wind spirit’s skin was mostly chalky, save for just around her eyes where the flesh was bloated and black. Her fingers were smeared with dried blood.

She had no pupils, just black marbles where eyes should be, and yet Ras could still tell she was staring straight at the spirit box.

He could also tell she was pretty pissed off.

Mistress: Ooh, sounds wonderfully creepy! Can our guests find your writer on that evil little realm called the Web?

Aletheia: Of course. You can find her here:

Website: http://www.jenniferrainey.com

Blog: http://independentparanormal.blogspot.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/JenniferKRainey

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorJenniferRainey

And her books are available at:

The Beldam’s Eye: http://www.amazon.com/The-Beldams-Bedbury-Series-ebook/dp/B009E7U3DO/ref=dp_kinw_strp_1

Thoroughly Modern Monsters: http://www.amazon.com/Thoroughly-Modern-Monsters-ebook/dp/B007QTKA0S/ref=la_B004GHDUSM_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1350869206&sr=1-3

These Hellish Happenings: http://www.amazon.com/These-Hellish-Happenings-ebook/dp/B004K1F8KM/ref=la_B004GHDUSM_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1350869252&sr=1-1

Night Mistress:  Wonderful. They do both look like a lot of fun. Thanks for taking time out from your busy afterlife, Aletheia to visit with us, and of course, Jennifer! Now, what were you and Juli gossiping about while I wasn’t paying attention?

*Still with the innocent look, Juli says* Why, nothing, my lady. We were just sharing recipes for Hemlock shakes.

*Night mistress glances at Aletheia* Do you believe her? Neither do I. Well, have a lovely evening, my dear. I hope to see you again sometime!

Folks we hope you enjoyed our night’s guests. Do stick around. Our Halloween celebration isn’t over.

***

*Night Mistress grabs Juli by ear* “Come here, lass. I need to speak with you…”

Juli: Ouch! 😉

One thought on “Halloween–partying with ghosts (and author Jennifer Rainey)

Comments are closed.