authors

Beth Trissel–A Christmas Carol and my new Christmas romance

From last Christmas (giveaway closed):

Our next guest, award winning Romance author Beth Trissel, is here today talking about the classic Christmas story of the Victorian age “A Christmas Carol” and also a little about her latest release: a Christmas romance called Somewhere the Bells Ring. Beth, whenever you’re ready…

A Christmas Carol and My New Christmas Romance

by
Beth Trissel

I’m A Christmas Carol junkie. Dickens himself would be hardpressed to find a bigger fan. As to the history behind this popular Christmas classic, Wikipedia (and you know they’re always reliable) says, “A Christmas Carol is a novella by English author Charles Dickens first published by Chapman & Hall on 17 December 1843. The story tells of sour and stingy Ebenezer Scrooge‘s ideological, ethical, and emotional transformation after the supernatural visits of Jacob Marley and the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present, and Yet to Come. The novella met with instant success and critical acclaim.
The book was written and published in early Victorian era Britain when it was experiencing a nostalgic interest in its forgotten Christmas traditions, and at the time when new customs such as the Christmas tree and greeting cards were being introduced. The tale has been viewed as an indictment of nineteenth century industrial capitalism and was adapted several times to the stage, and has been credited with restoring the holiday to one of merriment and festivity in Britain and America after a period of sobriety and sombreness. A Christmas Carol remains popular, has never been out of print, and has been adapted to film, opera, and other media.”
No kidding. I’ve probably seen every film made with this title or theme, plus the play performed by the local Shakespeare troupe who changed things up a bit for Christmas. My favorite movie is the production with George C. Scott. Tiny Tim gets to me every time. I’m also partial to The Muppet Christmas Carol, well done and not as scary for those who find Jacob Marley (what a moaner) and that creepy Ghost of Christmas Yet To Come (not much for chitchat) rather unnerving. I recently got around to watching the animated version with Jim Carrey. He was great in the film, but it is not for young children. It would scare my grandbabies and young niece to death. Make merry at Christmas or go to Hell was the impression that flick left me with. And I don’t think Dickens meant that to be the message we take away with us, but rather that this is a story of redemption. In Scrooge’s words, “I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year. I will live in the Past, the Present, and the Future. The Spirits of all Three shall strive within me. I will not shut out the lessons that they teach.”
And now, a word about my new Christmas release Somewhere the Bells Ring: ‘Caught with pot in her dorm room, Bailey Randolph is exiled to a relative’s ancestral home in Virginia to straighten herself out. Spending Christmas 1968 at Maple Hill is a dismal prospect until a ghost appears requesting her help, and her girlhood crush, Eric Burke, returns from Vietnam.’

If you enjoy an intriguing mystery with Gothic overtones and heart-tugging romance set in vintage America then Somewhere the Bells Ring is for you. And did I mention the ghost? Not a scary, but intriguing ghost. I met him in the vivid dream that inspired this story and takes place in the beautiful old Virginia home place where my father grew up and I visited over the holidays.

~ Available in various ebook formats at The Wild Rose Press, Amazon Kindle, All Romance Ebooks, Barnes & Noble’s Nookbook & other online booksellers.

*If you leave me nice comments I will give away an ebook, pdf, ePub, or kindle, winner’s choice.
*For more on me, my wordpress blog is the happening place: http://bethtrissel.wordpress.com/

About Beth Trissel:

author Beth Trissel and FriendsMarried to my high school sweetheart, I live on a farm in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia surrounded by my children, grandbabies, and assorted animals. An avid gardener, my love of herbs and heirloom plants figures into my work. The rich history of Virginia, the Native Americans and the people who journeyed here from far beyond her borders are at the heart of my inspiration. In addition to American settings, I also write historical and time travel romances set in the British Isles.

So, interesting, Beth! Gotta love the ghost. 😉 Thanks for being with us, Beth! We enjoyed having you and hearing about this Christmas Classic. Good luck with Somewhere the Bells Ring! Folks, don’t forget to leave Beth a comment or question for a chance to win. And thanks for joining our Christmas fest. We hope you enjoyed it and have a merry Christmas!

